“RETIREMENT – ALARM BELLS”

After many years of financial planning, I find that many times people come to me that have not heeded the alarm bells for many years.  Retirement planning involves a team.  The players in this team are the person looking to retirement, an attorney, a CPA, and a financial advisor.  Why do you need all  of these?  Each of them, including the future retiree, should be accountable to the  team to sound the alarm bells at the right time to reach the goals of the retiree.

In retirement planning you can’t “pull a fast one” on the future needs for retiring and remaining retired with sufficient funds to enjoy your retirement.  A good financial advisor will sound the alarm bells when appropriate and hold you accountable for the ongoing needs of your plan.  You should also hold the financial advisor accountable with your own alarm bells. 

It’s really fun to enjoy the fruits of  your  labor during your earning years, but the fun ceases when you approach retirement and finally hear the alarm bells and begin to doubt whether you will be able to retire.  You may even begin to be concerned about whether you may remain retired.

When you approach retirement age and begin to faintly hear the alarm bells, you will most likely realize you could have done many things different (like starting a retirement plan).  It’s not comfortable to realize what could have been when the game is in the ninth inning and you are behind.

These are some of  the things you need in developing and maintaining a retirement plan:

  • Do you have an ongoing relationship with your financial advisor to sound the alarm bells?
  • Are you keeping  your  priorities straight?
  • Are you asking yourself the hard questions?
  • Are you being accountable?
  • Are you over-concerned with current wants and needs while ignoring retirement?
  • Are you putting more stock in “events” rather than the  “process?”
  • Are you being too much of a  “loner” in your planning?
  • Are you planning on relying only on Social Security Benefits to take care of  your needs?

If this blog post causes you to hear the alarm bells, it’s time to take the first step and call me or visit my website and complete the “contact” form and I will contact you immediately:

http://www.burrows.financial

*****

Galatians 6:7-10

We can’t pull a fast one on God.  He sees all and  cannot be deceived.  He notices our shortcuts and also our efforts when we do well.  To ensure that we live by this truth, seek others to hold you accountable and act as your “Alarm Bells.”

  • Is my personal walk with God up-to-date?
  • Am I keeping my principles straight?
  • Am I asking myself the hard questions?
  • Am I accountable to someone in authority?
  • Am I sensitive to what God is saying to the whole body of Christ?
  • Am I over-concerned with building my image?
  • Do I put more stock in “events” rather than “process?”
  • Am I a loner in my leadership and personal life?
  • Am I aware and  honest about my weaknesses?
  • Is my calling constantly before me?

Have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

