“36TH ANNIVERSARY”

Wow!!!  What a journey! 

Bride & Groom

March 18, 1978

What a beautiful bride on our wedding day.  The day began, for me, with discovering the shoes I purchased for our wedding were a mismatch.  One shoe was size 10 1/2 and the other was a 9 1/2.  I was in College Station and the wedding was taking place in Houston.  Pam was already in Houston and I was getting ready  to travel to the wedding site to marry the love of my life.  It was scramble  time when I discovered the “shoe” problem.  The shoe store didn’t have a matched pair of the same shoe style.  (Someone else was going to  discover they had the same problem.)  So, after selecting a different style, getting ready in my wedding outfit, I traveled to Houston to begin a wonderful adventure.

Things do not always go according to our plans.  The preacher was late, but I will always remember the beginning of the ceremony.  I had been waiting patiently to see my bride and when she entered the room, I saw the most beautiful bride I have ever seen.  We spent the night at the hotel near the airport and left early the next morning for The Bahamas.

Bahamas

The Bahamas

No adventure in life is without problems.  We were in The Bahamas for 5 days and Pam’s luggage didn’t arrive until the day we were leaving.  We came down the  elevator to check out and they informed us her luggage had arrived…just in time for us to load it for the return trip home.  We had a memorable time and adjusted our plans for the missing luggage.

As I look back, I have a real understanding of the wedding vows we took on our wedding day.

“I take you to have and to hold from  this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and  to cherish; from  this day forward until death do us part.”

These vows can only be accomplished under the watchful eye of God.  During this adventure we have traveled to the mountain tops and the valleys.  We have experienced everything, except death, included in  the vows we took that day.  During our journey, Pam was diagnosed with an incurable disease.  That was one of the valleys of our journey.  During this time, God spoke to Pam and told her, “give Me this day!”  Since that time we have tried to do exactly that knowing that God was with us and He has promised never to  leave us.  If you want to read more of this part of our  journey, you may find it in  the  archives titled “THE STORY OF A MIRACLE.”  (begin with part 1)

To be joined together as husband and wife was our greatest blessing.  Second to that was the blessing of being joined together as father and mother to Lyndsey.

Pam & Jerry2

Now, after all  those years

How can it be that Pam gets younger and more beautiful?  As you can see from  the pictures above, she is still young beautiful and have aged and my hair is gray.  I always tell Lyndsey that it is “BL.”  (Before Lyndsey) 

 

2 Responses to ““36TH ANNIVERSARY””

  1. Keith Says:

    Congratulations, Stay Gold

  2. DebbieB@woodside-homes.com Says:

    Love this….Happy Anniversary to you both!!! And many many more!!!!!

    From:
    Jbburrows’s Blog
    To:
    debbieb@woodside-homes.com,
    Date:
    03/18/2014 09:26 AM
    Subject:
    [New post] “36TH ANNIVERSARY”

    JBBurrows posted: “Wow!!! What a journey! March 18, 1978 What a
    beautiful bride on our wedding day. The day began, for me, with
    discovering the shoes I purchased for our wedding were a mismatch. One
    shoe was size 10 1/2 and the other was a 9 1/2. I was in College “

Leave a Reply

