“WHAT WERE THE GOOD OLD DAYS?”

For many years I have seen some people who wish “the good old days” were back.  Then there are those who believed they were now living in “the good old days.”  “The good old days” mean different things for each generation…I believe.  When times are good, the generation of that day believes they are living in the  best of times.  To them, “the good old days” were not so great.  Maybe the  standard of living was not as good or there were too many hard times.  To the older generation, “the good old days” may have been when the standard of living was not considered as good as the present time, but the quality of living was much better…truth and morality were a way of life.

Think what you may.  The “good old days” to me may be a little different from you.

These were some of my “good old days:”

I lived on a farm and we ate from  the crops grown in the field.  We ate biscuits and  cornbread and we would really get excited when mom or  dad brought home what we call “light bread.”  Baked in a commercial bakery and  already sliced.  It was a thrill to take a fresh slice of bread, fold it, take a bite out of the crease, and make a round hole in  it took look at your brother through.  That was a good time.

Every once in a while, a trip to the grocery store resulted in a small jar of olives.  That was a real treat and  I always thought  I  could eat the whole jar.  But, I had to share.

What fun I had on a rainy day!  I would get an empty thread spool, a bar of soap, and a saucer and catch a little rain in the saucer.  Then  I could wet the spool, rub the end of the spool on the soap until it had a thin film of soapy water over the hole.  This works much like the  bubble kits kids buy at the store today.  Then I could blow through the end of the spool until a bubble formed.  If I had a friend with me, we could have a contests.  Who could blow the largest bubble?  Who blow a bubble and send it out  into the rain and see how far it would go before a raindrop popped it.

It was a real adventure to climb up a sycamore tree and take my pocket knife and carve my initials in  the  bark.  Sycamore trees are really great for carving in the soft, smooth bark.

I remember the family ate all  their meals at the same time and at the table.  We had no television, so there was no option  to watch TV while eating a meal.  My dad believed when it was meal time it was time for the family to be together.  The meal began when all the family was seated at the table. There were exceptions to this rule, but the reason must be a good one.

Teachers taught us in school and sent us home with “homework.”  We were not sent home for our parents to do the teaching…it was actually done in class and parents were not expected to do the teaching.

After arriving home  from school, it was not a time for leisure.  There were chores to do and then homework.  The incentive for finishing homework was the “free” time afterwards.  These were good days.

When I look back at the relationships with others during my “good old days,” people seemed to care more about each other than in  the current days.  Today I watch the news and read the newspapers and I see a lot of meanness in  this world.  It might help if the media would get excited about the good things of the day and report them.  Contrary to popular belief, I believe more news would be watched on TV and more newspapers sold.  Just my opinion.

*****

God brought Israel out of Egypt and led them to the promised land.  He protected them on their journey.  He was always present and when He  performed miracles, the Israelites would build a rock altar as a reminder of what God did at that place.  These were Spiritual markers for Israel.  When times were bad, they could remember what God had done for them in the  past and know that  He would be with them during their hardships.

Each of us today have experienced God’s presence in time  of need.  These are our  Spiritual markers.  When we face difficulties on today’s life journey, we should remember God’s presence in the past and be confident He is watching over us today.

Have great day!

Each day:  “Cry a little,  laugh a little, and meditate a lot.”  You will feel much better.

Leave a Reply

