“IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT!!!”

I received some really sad news on Monday morning.  Joe Metcalfe died on Sunday, June 23, at the age of 66 with stage 4 liver cancer.  He went to the doctor on Friday and died just two days later.

When Pam and I were living in College Station in the mid 70’s, we had the pleasure of meeting Joseph F. Metcalfe, III.  We worked at the Bank of A & M and one of the officers of  the bank married Joe.  ( We worked at the Bank of A & M, but we were still avid Longhorn fans.)

Joseph was fondly called “Little Joe” by his mother.  “Big Joe” was his dad.  To us he was just “Joe.”  We became good friends and  that friendship has lasted 40 years.  I have never met a person who was always upbeat regardless of the circumstances.  He was a most generous man and would never turn down the opportunity to help someone.  If you were down, he would lift you up.

Each time you saw him  and asked how things were going, his answer was always, “IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT!.”  We moved to Jasper in  1978, but this friendship continued.  I few years ago, he became a client and all the people at the office were amazed when they spoke to him.  It was always, “IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT.” 

I am sure there are a great many people who will always remember Joe as the generous and upbeat person he was.  His memory will always live on in our hearts.

Pam and I will be traveling to College Station today to meet with his family and friends and I am sure I will hear many times:  “IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT.”

*****

This the way it is with our relationship with God.  Regardless of the good times and the bad times in our lives, God is always with us and He  promises never to leave us.  With a loving relationship with God, I truly believe “IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT!!!

 

 

One Response to ““IF IT GOT ANY BETTER, I COULDN’T STAND IT!!!””

  1. Anonymous Says:

    This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me.
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

