“ARE YOU IN PAIN?”

When I lived in College Station, I had quite a few lakes and stock tanks to fish in.  There was a lake south of town that was one of my favorites.  I always carried 2 tackle boxes and 5 rods and reels in my trunk, along with sneakers and cut-off jeans.  Many afternoons I would leave work in my suit & tie and head to one of my fishing spots.  The road (two ruts in the pasture) that took me to the dam was pretty muddy due to earlier rains.  As I concentrated on catching bass, a heavy thunderstorm sneaked up on me.  I decided it was time to get back to civilization before the road became to muddy for travel.  It was pretty difficult to manuever through all the mud and in the process my tail pipe was disconnected from the muffler.  When I escaped from the mud and was on the paved road, I decided it was time to take care of the tail pipe problem.  Not only was it very loud, but it was dragging on the pavement.  It was necessary to use my bumper jack to get the body high enough to pull the tail pipe over the axle.  Just as I successfully removed the tail pipe, the car shifted on the bumper jack and pinned me under the gas tank.  I never liked bumper jacks before and I really didn’t like them that night.

I am not one to panic and consider myself a problem solver.  So what do I do now?  I’m out in the country and it’s dark, raining, and   trapped under my car.  I was laying on my left side and managed to slide my should to the left and gradually lie on my stomach.  I was free!  Now I had to figure out if I was hurt.  I was in pain, but I managed to drive to the hospital in Bryan and walked into the ER.  I told the attending medical person that my car had fallen on me and was told to have a seat.  I thought it was an emergency room but I soon realized I was the one with the emergency.  I finally asked the nurse if she knew when a doctor could see me.  I thought it was obvious to everyone in the ER that I was in pain.  The nurse called a doctor and during her conversation, she asked me,. “ARE YOU IN PAIN?”  By now my patience had deserted me so I said, “NO, I JUST CAME BY FOR A VISIT AND SEE HOW ALL OF YOU WERE DOING.”  She told the doctor, “YES, HE’S IN PAIN.”

This was before Blue Collar Comedy and their routine about “HERE’S YOUR SIGN.”  But, as I recall this little adventure, I wish I had known to add “HERE’S YOUR SIGN” to my comment to the nurse.

After being examined, no broken bones were found.  I was at work bright and early the next morning….very sore and moving very slowly.

*****

I know that God keeps a watchful eye on me at all times and He was obviously aware of my problems that night.  He was also aware of my pain and allowed me to get to the ER to be checked out.  God is aware of all our pains, whether they are physical or spiritual.  When we are in severe pain of any kind, the ER that God operates is always available.  He doesn’t have to ask about your pain.  He already knows all of our circumstances.  But, in order to receive God’s ER attention, we must go to Him and ask.  He is always available night and day.

Leave a Reply

