“USING LEFT-OVERS”

Sometimes I have plans for left-overs, but often I just don’t want to throw them away.  Maybe it’s just my conservative nature.  I made a pot of vegetable soup the last week of September.  It is impossible to make “just a little” vegetable soup, so I always have plans for the left-overs…into the freezer for the winter months.

 

A couple of weeks ago I decided to make a pot of chili.  Pam was traveling back to Jasper after spending a few days with her parents in Panhandle.  She had attended her highschool reunion to visit with old friends.  I am not real good about using measuring spoons, etc., when cooking.  After browning the ground meat and onions, it was time to add flour and the remaining dry ingredients.  I usually add four or five tablespoons of chili powder (using my cupped palm as a measuring spoon).  Well, I added the chili powder, and then started to add the red pepper.  When I looked at the red pepper bottle, the label read “chili powder.”  I picked up the other chili powder bottle and it read “red pepper.”  Later, when I made my taste test, I discovered I had made chili that went far beyond the classification of “five alarm chili.”  I browned and added more meat .  When we sat down for supper, we still experienced “way beyond five alarm chili.”  The next afternoon I browned more meat (enough for another pot of chili) and Pam added about 1/2 of the first pot of chili.  Great success!  Now we had “five alarm chili” and decided to freeze the remainder of the first pot and use it like a starter for yeast rolls.  The left-over chili from the second batch was packaged for the freezer.  We now have enough chili to make it through the winter months…and more.

If you don’t already know, my favorite pastime is woodworking.  Or is it Longhorn baseball?  It is probably both.  I have left-over lumber from Lyndsey’s sleigh bed and entertainment center.  It’s not kept in the freezer, but allows me to have lots of clutter in my shop.

A few months ago, a friend brought two baseball bats to my office.  Her son plays in little league baseball, and she wanted to know if I had any ideas on how she could hang the bats on the wall in his room.  I told her I would figure something out to solve her problem.  I took a while, but I came up with the shelf below:

She was surprised at my solution.  The back of the shelf is shaped like a regulation home plate.  On top of the shelf I drilled holes to place his prized baseballs.  So, left-overs are good!

I believe I still have enough left-over lumber to build a bedside table for Lyndsey’s sleigh bed.  If not, I will only need a little more.

*****

As I think of “left-overs,” I realize God usually blesses us with more than we really need. After thinking about this for little while this morning, I realized why.  God gives us the extra blessing for a reason.  These are “left-overs” to be used at a later time in our lives.  We are to use them to bless others!  They may be stored away, but they are to be used for others as God directs.  If we listen closely, God will direct these “left-over” blessings to the appropriate people, in the appropriate place, at the appropriate time.

Leave a Reply

