“HEARTBREAK”

Shortly after I started this  blog, I posted “AGONY – MISERY.”  This was on March 20, 2010.  Since that date there have been 1,886 views for that post (2010 – 412, 2011 – 872, & 2012 – 602).  This is amazaing to me.  It makes me wonder if people were searching on the net for something about “AGONY” or “MISERY.”  I guess I will never know.  I have had comments from men who trained at Fort Knox and were very familiar with those two hills and the fact they were very appropriately named.

One commentor reminded me about another hill.  “HEARTBREAK HILL.”  I had totally forgotten about the third hill and I appreciated the reminder.

Kagodsey commented and told me he had visited Fort Knox recently and had taken pictures of ‘HEARTBREAK” and offered to send them by Email.  Of course, I was interested.  They arrived this morning.

Linear perspective from this pic

Hi Jerry,  down the hill a bit–if you notice that is a large commercial backhoe and dump  truck at the bottom of “Heartbreak.”  It was the mid 1970’s when I was 17  years old when I humped that hill.  I am just amazed today I was  then…Proud to be US ARMY!!  Thank you for your service friend!

I remember a visit from one of my Army friend’s brother in the spring of 1956 before we shipped out for Germany.  This brother had been told about AGONY AND MISERY and wanted to see them.  We drove him to the hills and he laughed because we had to march up and down these hills.  Down is just about as bad as up.  He was still in high school and informed us that he could run up MISERY.  We removed him from the vehicle and invited him to have a test run up the hill.  He did real well…for about 1/3 of the way.  Then he moved to the shoulder and stuck out his “hitch-hiker’s” thumb.

This picture was posted on the “AGONY – MISERY” blog.

I got my picture on the internet.  My new friend, Kagodsey, sent a much better one.

Our leaders didn’t just let us ride to one of these hills to play.  When we marched out to the rifle range or other training area, we had to tackle one of these hills.  Then, after a long march out to train, we marched back to the barracks and had to attack one of these hills again.  It really wasn’t so bad unless one of your group collapsed.  Then we were allowed to carry him back to our area.  I never understood why the vehicles with the RED CROSS on the side didn’t carry them back.  But, I learned very early in my military career that it was not necessary for me to understand.

*****

I don’t know why people will search the internet for AGONY, MISERY, and HEARTBREAK.   Do they want to know about the hills at Fort Knox?  Are they looking to see if anyone else is experiencing AGONY, MISERY, and/or HEARTBREAK?  You may be able to find some help on the internet for these feelings, but there is one place you will always find relief.  AT THE FOOT OF JESUS.  God has given us many promises in His word.  He is true to His promises and in Him you will find the solution to AGONY, MISERY, and/or HEARTBREAK.

16 Responses to ““HEARTBREAK””

  1. Bob Johnson Says:

    I was sure that I was not the only GI who knew of these hills.  I don’t remember which was the worst but at the bottom of one there was a stream that they allowed us to wade.  Water felt good up then we found we were packing more weight on the other side of the hill.  Marching downhill proved to be as bad as uphill.  Memories of lovely Fort Knox, summer, 1962.  

    ________________________________

    • JBBurrows Says:

      Bob: I was at Fort Knox in 1956-57 and like you, I don’t remember which hills were the worst. None were good!
      Thanks for you comment and for your service to our great nation. May God bless you in all ways.

      Jerry

  2. Team Methane | Operation Fatso: Week 0 Says:

    […] platoon renamed it MF’er. Because of the magic of the interwebs, I’ve actually found info on these hills if you’re interested or just Google it. Take my word for it, they were all steep, long, and […]

    • JBBurrows Says:

      I was at Fort Knox in 1955-1956. This was before Google existed amd I experienced
      those hills first hand. Thank you for you service to our nation and God’s blessings
      on you.

  3. Ron Ralph Says:

    I went to OSUT (One Stop Unit Training) at Ft. Knox, Ky from March-July, 1981. I can’t begin to tell you how many long road marches we went on Agony, Misery, and Heartbreak Hills with a 70 lb fully loaded rucksack on our back and an M-16 in hand with LBE gear. We were carrying half our body weight or more on these agonizing hills!! I remember going on Bivouac and going to the Obstacle and Confidence Course via road march, along to the gas chamber. Those memories are permanently etched in my mind. I graduated as an M60A3 Armor Crewman and was in A-4-1. I remember our motto to this day, “No mission to difficult, no sacrifice too great”.

    After OSUT, I was stationed at Ft. Carson, Co from 1982-1984 in 2 Bn 34th Armor, moved to Germany and was in 1/4 Cav. I was surprised to hear I’d be PCS’ing to none other than the “Home of Armor” in Ft. Knox after leaving Germany. For me, Ft. Knox kind of felt like home. My wife and new baby daughter and I lived in Pritchard Place at first, then my wife found out she was pregnant with twins, so we moved to Estrada Place. In all, we were stationed in Ft. Knox for almost four years. It became home to us. I kind of miss it today, even though the last time I was there was 1992 for “Refresher Training” for the M1A2 after I completed three very successful years as an Army Recruiter in Orlando.

    I’d love to go back to visit Radcliff, Elizabethtown, Louisville, and Ft Knox in the near future. I’ve heard Ft. Knox is not the “Home of Armor” anymore. I heard it’s the home of “paper pushers” now.

  4. Ron Ralph Says:

    When we first arrived to Ft. Knox, my wife, baby daughter and I, rented a small one bedroom house in Muldrough, a very small town with just one main road going through it, until we got in base housing. I wonder what’s in Muldrough now? There was just one restaurant, one gas station, and a post office there when we lived there.

  5. gkeairns Says:

    I entered the Army and was drafted in 1967. Grew up in Ashland,Ky and did basic and AIT radio school at Ft Knox. I have thought for years about how we ever went up and down those hills 2-3 x a week. Today I visited Ft. Knox. Wow,,,has it changed in 47 years. Burger King, Starbucks, housing. I expected to see those old wooden barracks. Gone. I do remember Wilson Rd. and I drove it and also the hills today.. It’s really hard to imagine climbing those hills back then, preparing to go to Vietnam in 12/67. Hats off to the vets who trained us and pushed us. I am glad they did because as hard as it was then, it was cake compared to Vietnam.
    God Bless.
    Greg Keairns
    U S Army
    3/1st. Bat.
    11th. Light Infantry Brigade
    Shipped out of Hawaii on General Weigel on our 19 day vacation cruise to Vietnam in Dec. of 67

    • JBBurrows Says:

      Greg:

      I was stationed at Fort Knox between Korea and Viet Nam. I thank you for
      your service to a great nation. May God bless you and your family.

      Jerry

      • gkeairns Says:

        Jerry…Thank you as well for your service and serving overseas. I always heard that Korea was bitter cold in the winter.
        Take care and GOD BLESS YOU…..
        Greg K.

  6. JBBurrows Says:

    I was there in 1955-56 before going to Germany with the Third Armored Division. Thanks for your comments and may God bless you for your service to a great nation.

    Jerry

    • Glynn McCann Says:

      thank you i want to come back this summer to see those hills again. I hope I can get on the post with a valid drivers license

      Glynn McCann

  7. Ed Strickland Says:

    I was at FT Knox 1981 for Basic and AIT, I had a great tour of duty, I went back many times last time 1993, Great place to live,but any place the Army sent me was great.

Leave a Reply

