“SOME THINGS I NEVER UNDERSTOOD”

A couple of weeks ago I visited with a friend in the bank lobby.  I have known him for over 30 years and worked with him 25 years at the bank.  I knew he had been ill and away from the bank the prior week, so I asked how he was feeling.  He was feeling much better and for some reason he mentioned what happened when he was much younger.  His sister was having bad problems with her tonsils and his parents decided to do a “two-fer.”  They told the doctor to remove his tonsils also.  He never understood the reasoning behind that.

It caused me to remember the same thing happened to me.  It was a little different in my case, but it was still something I didn’t understand.  My older brother (probably 10) was having tonsil problems.  This was a time when you went to the doctor’s office on Saturday morning, was put to sleep and tonsils removed and then went home.  For some reason, my parents were also going for a “two-fer.”  I don’t know whether it was a two-for-one sale or not.  But both of us were having a tonsillectomy.  When Saturday morning came and we arrived at the doctor’s office, my brother chickened out…he was scared.  So, I volunteered to be the “guinea pig” and have mine removed that day and he could see if I survived the knife and he would have his procedure the next Saturday.  I had no problems.  I was in bed one day and everything was back to normal the next day.  He was then prepared to undergo his own tonsillectomy the next Saturday.  He was SORELY disappointed.  He was in bed for a week and in pain for an additional week.  This is one of  those things I never understood.  He had tonsil problems and the doctor removed mine.  My tonsils were healthy.

Another thing I never understood was when my brother was attacked by a dog.  He was on the road between our house and my cousin’s house.  We owned a German Shepherd and my cousin had a Collie.  When my brother began to scream, both dogs heard him and came to the rescue.  They were vicious and rescued my brother.  He was probably 8 or 9 at the time.  I don’t remember who, but someone caught the dog, killed it, and shipped the head to Austin to determine it if was rabid.

 

I was about 5 years old and didn’t understand any of this, but it really didn’t matter.   Our dogs had rescued my brother and that was great with me.  Then came the part I didn’t understand.  I am sure my brother had to have some type of shots and/or medical treatment.  But, the part I really remember is having to go to the doctor every day for two weeks for a series of shots for rabies.  For a 5-year-old it didn’t  make much sense for me to take shots and my brother was the one bitten by the dog.

The part I remember about the shots was being placed in a chair with arms the wrapped around me and trapped me.  Then the doctor would give me a shot in the stomach.  I remember dreading each trip to the doctor.  So, this was another thing I just never understood.  (By the way, the dog was not rabid)

*****

Now looking at the present from a Spiritual point of view.  There are a lot of things about God and the way He works that I don’t understand.  But, that really doesn’t matter.  I know I am in His hands and He is in control.  The Bible tells me that His Ways or not my ways and I don’t really have to understand.  I must put myself in His Hands and by faith trust in Him.

7 Responses to ““SOME THINGS I NEVER UNDERSTOOD””

  1. David Black Says:

    I like it Brother!, Especially the part about the shots and putting yourself in His Hands and by faith trusting HIM.
    I had to have penicllin shots everyday for 6 months for treatment of Ringworms when I was 6 years old. Couldn’t go to school, had to have my head shaved, and take X-Ray and other crazy treatments. Then one day they were gone. “Just like that!” None of it made any sense then. Now, I am allergic to Penicillin. Losing my hair and gained alot of weight. But I still trust in the Bible.
    One of these days, we are all going to be gone in a second, and some folks will be standing around saying “I don’t understand that.”
    Cause they didn’t have their faith in the right things.
    Blessings,
    David

  2. pamburrows Says:

    i loved the post, yet i am soooo sorry you had to have rabies shots…sometimes mommas just do what they think best…God, on the other hand always knows and i am so thankful we can always trust Him

  3. Florence Green Says:

    A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little analysis on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If possible, as you grow to be experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with more particulars? It’s highly helpful for me. Massive thumb up for this weblog put up!

  4. Kate Pepper Says:

    This website online can be a stroll-by for all the information you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll positively discover it. There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure good points in options also.

  5. Burton Depaolo Says:

    I just want to mention I’m very new to blogging and site-building and truly enjoyed you’re blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with remarkable well written articles. Thanks a bunch for revealing your web site.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Great internet site. A lot of valuable info here. I am sending it to some friends ans in addition sharing in delicious. And clearly, thank you to your effort!

Leave a Reply

