“KEEPING A POSITIVE ATTITUDE”

I arrived home yesterday after work excited about another adventure in Austin for Longhorn baseball.  I don’t wait until Thursday each week to get excited about our weekend adventure…I usually start on Monday.  Let’s face it, I just like to stay excited and have a POSITIVE ATTITUDE.  It’s not always easy, but it is always healthy.  There are always a few chores to take care of before I leave.  I posted a blog on March 27 about “ONIONS.”

 I always plant my onions horizontal rather than vertical.  It’s easier and as they begin to grow they stand vertical on their own.  As you can see….they have begun to grow and stand up.

A few weeds have appeared in my garden, so it was time to crank the tiller for a little garden maintenance.  I checked the gas tank and needed gas.  My gas supply was empty from last week’s lawn mowing, so Pam and I had to go to town for gas.  I don’t need this!!!  I don’t have time for this!!!  Whoa Jerry.  Remember about ‘KEEPING A POSITIVE ATTITUDE.”  Ok, I have time.  After returning from the gas station, I filled the tiller gas tank, cranked it, and began my tilling operation.  I noticed a stream of gas spurting from the side of the gas tank.  I don’t need this!!!  If you have read some of my earlier posts, you already know that this has been a year of everything I own breaking.  Not really, but I have had to do a lot of repair work this year.  But, ‘KEEP A POSITIVE ATTITUDE.”  Now I know why the gas tank was empty.  It had a leak.  But, I will not be defeated.  As the gas spurted, I tilled the garden and tried to forget about the price of gasoline.  I finished the tilling.  As you can see, the garden has enlarged since I planted 300 onions.

I now have tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, swiss chard, and peppers…all the rows have been weeded with the tiller.  Next week I will take care of the weeds closer to the plants.  Now I am getting excited about fresh vegetables that are sure to come.  With a good ‘POSITIVE ATTITUDE,” I am sure they will arrive.

Where am I going with this story?  With a leaky gas tank and all the other repairs that I have experienced the last three months, I could have let the NEGATIVE overpower the POSITIVE.  I could have just sat down and cried or stand up and do something.  I am just glad that every thing didn’t break at the same time.  I would have felt hopeless and probably just sat down and cried.  When the onions weren’t standing tall a few days after I planted them I could have been discouraged and straightened each of the 300 plants.  But, I kept a ‘POSITIVE ATTITUDE” and got my reward.

Life is filled with broken things and discouraging things happen more than we like.  We can sit and cry or stand and do something.

From the Wisdom Book:

“Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.”  –John Wooden

“Challenges can be stepping-stones or stumbling blocks.  It’s just a matter of how you view them. –Unknown

“It’s a funny thing about life; if you refuse to accept anything but best, you very often get it.” –Somerset Maugham

*****
I know the source of “KEEPING A POSITIVE ATTITUDE.”  I can look to my past experiences and the times that I was lifted above difficulties and know that the Hand of God was always present.  It the time of need, He is always there.  I have learned that when I need encouragement it is time to give encouragement to others.  It is impossible to do that without being rewarded with a “POSITIVE ATTITUDE.”  So, have a nice day and give encouragement to someone in their time of need.

Leave a Reply

