“ALL WELCOME”

I have been reading a few legal thrillers written by an attorney in Dallas.  My Kindle has come in handy.  When I read a good book and like the author, I can easily find other books written by him or her.  The first book I read takes place in Austin and I could really get into it because I knew many of the places in the story.  I could SEE the story as it takes place.  The next book was written about Galveston.  I am currently reading a story that takes place in Fredericksburg.

I came across an interesting fact while reading this book.  When traveling East toward Austin from Main Street, the street names are:

Adams

Llano

Lincoln

Washington

Elk

Lee

Columbus

Olive

Mesquite

Eagle

ALL WELCOME

When traveling West from Main Street, the street names are:

Crockett

Orange

Milam

Edison

Bowie

Acorn

Cherry

Kay

COME BACK

Very interesting to me.  I thought the author was just taking liberties with the street names, so I checked the town map and discovered he was indeed correct.  I don’t know when the streets were named, but Fredericksburg was established by German immigrants on May 8, 1846.

Pam and I have made a few trips to Fredericksburg and always had a great time.  There are many things to see and do in this Central Texas town.  There are wineries, a wild flower farm, restaurants, and for the women….SHOPS.  If you haven’t visited, take time and see this part of Texas.

*****

ALL WELCOME!  It’s great to find a town that all are welcome and also sends a message to come back.  That’s the way it is with God.  ALL are WELCOME to enter into a relationship with Him.  It is God who chooses us.  We only need to accept the invitation.  And there are times we let something come between us and God.  But the comforting part of this is He is always waiting with open arms for us to COME BACK.

Leave a Reply

