“ONIONS”

Spring is a very exciting time for me.  It is also a very busy time.  This year, I have been very busy “fixin” things.  It seems like all my toys are breaking at the same time.  First, my motor on my Shopsmith dust collector died, then the burners on my Charbroil propane grill needed replacing along with the hose, regulator, and gauge.  Then my electric service pole from the house to the shop rotted at ground level (See post “PATIENCE”  on 2/28/12.

This past Saturday was a very busy day.  It was also a very beautiful spring day to be outside and work in the yard.  I was happy to be outside and the sounds of the birds happily singing made it even better.  The Azaleas in our yard and around the neighborhood were in bloom.

My yard covers about 2-1/2 acres and take away the house, shop, and garden, it still takes a couple of hours.  Then there is the added pressure to finish my chores by 2 PM so I can watch the Longhorn baseball game with K-State in Manhattan, Kansas.  The first step is to use the weedeater to trim around the house, flower beds, etc….all the places my lawn tractor can’t reach.  By the time I finished this, it was time for Pam to go to the meat market and get a brisket for Sunday dinner.  (People always compliment ME on my brisket cooking ability, but it is PAM’s recipe and I always try to give the credit to her.  She cooks it all night and it’s hard to sleep in the wee hours of the morning when the smell fills the house.)

While she is in town, I always mow near where she parks her car so she can return to her spot and not be concerned about the mower throwing something and damaging her car.  Before she left for town, we trimmed a tree in the front flower bed.  I don’t know the kind of tree it was, but Pam knows.  It always has beautiful flowers in the spring.

Next it was time to mow the lawn.  While I was mowing in the back, Pam raked the front flower beds and left the leaves on the lawn so I could pick them up with the mower.  While she was raking in front, I finished the back and cranked the tiller and readied the garden for planting.  Then, after mowing the front, I fed the RIFA (Red Imported Fire Ants) some bait they believe is food and take to the queen down in the ant hill.  (If you don’t know about fire ants, see 5/11/11 post “RIFA).  This helps to control the fire ants, but it is an ongoing process.

Now it’s time for fertilizing the lawn.  I have a spreader to pull behind the lawn tractor.  Surprise, surprise!!!  The spreader needed a little repair work.  I have learned to never, never say “WHAT NOW!”  Every time I say that….something  else always happens.  So, I just smile and be happy as I go about another repair job.  After all, getting frustrated and angry will only delay my work and I will never be through in time for the baseball game.  (The Longhorns won!)

On Monday after work I planted the onions.

Just in case you are wondering how many onions I planted…300.  And also, if you are wondering why they all appear to be laying on the ground…that’s the way I plant them.  After tilling, I level the rows with a rake and then make a furrow with the rake handle.  Then I lay the onion sets with the roots in the furrow.  After that, I rake the soil over the furrow to cover the roots.  It is a lot easier than planting them upright by hand.  They will stand up straight as they grow.  I also plant them close together and as they grow, thin them out for our eating pleasure.  Pam and I love green onions and this allows the remainder of the onions to grow into large bulbs.  Three hundred (300) onion plants may seem like a lot for the two of us, but we really like onions.

 *****

As I think about the onions rising up and standing tall, I can’t help but think of a Risen Savior rising from the grave and standing tall for each of us.  As we approach the Easter season, it is time to be thankful for the sacrifice Jesus Christ made for us.  He paid for our past, present, and future sins with His Life.  Just as I have faith that the onions will stand tall as they grow to maturity, I place my faith in God that He will help me to stand tall and always be willing to tell The Good News about a Living Savior who loves us  with all His heart.  So, I give special thanks for the new life that each spring brings us and celebrate the special occasion of Easter.

One Response to ““ONIONS””

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Every weekend i used to visit this website, for the reason that i want enjoyment, for the reason that this
    site conations genuinely nice funny stuff too.

Leave a Reply

