“LYNDSEY’S SLEIGH BED”

I got an e-mail from David Black yesterday.  He informed me:

“Things we forget”

Seems like you “Have Forgotten.” To write on your BLOG since January.  I left you a comment on the Blog from January.

I plead guilty for neglecting my blog.  The blog he refers to is titled “Things We Forget” and was posted on January 13, 2012.

There are things I don’t forget.  Sometimes it takes me a little while to get around to some of my projects…but I don’t forget them.  Pam asked me to build a cabinet for her in early 2011.  I began the project and it seems like there were a lot of interruptions.  First, it was pretty cold in my shop.  And then it was Longhorn baseball season.  Then it was too hot in my shop.  These are not really good reasons, they are just excuses.  I have a propane heater for the shop and I also have a window air conditioner.  I also had a request for a Sleigh Bed from Lyndsey…probably November or December of 2010.  She sent me a picture (as usual) of her request and asked, “Daddy, can you build this? (as usual).  My answer was yes, but it will have to wait in line after Pam’s cabinet.

So I finished Pam’s cabinet in September (I’m Finished” – Posted September 22, 2011).  Then it was time to start on Lyndsey’s project.  I thought I might be finished for Christmas, but I would have to really rush so my next target was January 27th because we were going to Austin for Lyndsey’s run in the 3M One-Half Marathon.  There were 6,.000 runners and I am very proud of her accomplishment in running 13.1 miles.  Pam and I made it from start to finish.  But of course, after the start before daylight, we went to Starbucks for coffee and then drove to about the mid-point, and then to “Another Broken Egg” for breakfast.  Then on to the finish line to greet the triumphant “Lyndsey.”

So, after going down that “rabbit trail,” I will get back to the Sleigh Bed.  After approximately 300 hours it was complete and here are some pictures:  (Before stain, after stain, and In Lyndsey’s apartment)

So, I didn’t forget.  Delaying and forgetting are two different things.  I picked up a new project on our visit to Austin.  I had built a coffee table for Lyndsey years ago and it has gone through all of her moves across the country.  She had sanded and stained it a year or so back.  It did not make the move from Kansas City to Austin very well, so I had to take my glue and clamps and do a little repair work.  All of the finish needs to be stripped, re-stained and finished with a little hand rubbing included.  I will pick up the coffee table on our next trip for baseball and I will have another project.

********

I have started back in Genesis again in my daily reading of the Bible.  After Adam was created by God and provided with all he would ever need in the Garden of Eden, he forgot the instructions from God on his “eating habits.”  Then Even forgot what Adam had told her.  We’ve been having problems with sin from that day until today.

In Exodus, God heard His people’s cry from Egypt and rescued them.  They traveled through the Red Sea as God made the pathway safe.  He provided water and food but they later forgot all of those things.

Many times in life we forget all the difficulties through which God has walked with us.  Something new comes up and we want to handle all by ourselves.  Then when we fail, we turn to God.  We seem to often forget that God wants a part in every facet of our lives.  Our faith in God is not something we should turn on and off as we please.  Our “faith switch” needs to be permanently stuck in the “on” position.

Leave a Reply

