“PROCRASTINATION”

In psychology, procrastination refers to the act of replacing high-priority actions with tasks of low-priority, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time. Some psychologists cite such behavior as a mechanism for coping with the anxiety associated with starting or completing any task or decision.

Procrastination may result in stress, a sense of guilt and crisis, severe loss of personal productivity, as well as social disapproval for not meeting responsibilities or commitments. These feelings combined may promote further procrastination. While it is regarded as normal for people to procrastinate to some degree, it becomes a problem when it impedes normal functioning.

Perfectionism

Traditionally, procrastination has been associated with perfectionism, a tendency to negatively evaluate outcomes and one’s own performance, intense fear and avoidance of evaluation of one’s abilities by others, heightened social self-consciousness and anxiety, recurrent low mood, and “workaholism”.

My brother-in-law is having a cardioversion procedure performed this morning.  I bring this up not to say he is a procastinator, but just to make a point.  There are many times when we are faced with a decision and we are unsure of the results.  We think what if it doesn’t work.  Well, what if it does work.  One thought is negative and the other positive.

I am working on one of the most complicated woodworking projects I have ever attempted.  This time I have plans rather than looking at a picture from a catalogue and drawing my own plans.  When people have brought me pictures and asked if I could build this…I always say, “sure.”  When I received the plans for my current project, I looked them over and saw how complicated the detail work would be.  It was going to be a challenge, but when Lyndsey asked if I could build this Queen Size Sleigh Bed, I said sure.  I could have just thrown up my hands and said I could never get all the 80 pieces to fit, but I believe it is the challenge that drives me.  Until I bought the first materials and made the first cut, there would never be the possibility to find out if I could finish it or not.  It’s just like walking.  You can’t walk until you take the first step.  That leads to the next step and then the next step.  That’s where I am now.  I am patiently taking one step at a time and I KNOW that I can complete the job.

I run into procastinators daily in my financial planning profession.  I visit with people who have lost a large portion of their retirement funds in the stock market.  When I suggest an alternative, they say, “but what if the market goes up?”  Well, what if it stays where it is or goes down?  I am conservative so I like to remove as much risk as possible when dealing with investments.  Many people believe the greater the risk, the greater the rewards…really!!!  Maybe so, may not.

A couple of months ago I had a thought on a new family adventure for Thanksgiving.  I could have thought Pam and Lyndsey would never want to go on this type of adventure, but rather than procrastinate, I told them my plans.  Not only acceptance by both…extreme excitement.  I could have procrastinated about finding the right place to stay and worry about it being the perfect place.  But, I searched and found the perfect place…two months early.  The excitement is really beginning to build in anticipation for our Thanksgiving adventure.  We all like adventures and try to make each time we get together an adventure.

One area we need never procrastinate about is God’s faithfulness.  When God says it will happen…it will happen.  When He says He will…He will.  We can stand firm in our faith on that.  Years ago when God said He will save me, it was no time to procrastinate and say, “well, what if He doesn’t.”  Well, what if He does.  Now that is really exciting.  Just like in the stock market…it’s a matter of risk.  There is no risk greater than being saved by our Lord and Savior.  There are many things I may doubt, but there is no doubt in His promise.

 

 

One Response to ““PROCRASTINATION””

  1. Elegant Wordpress Themes Says:

    Awesome website…

Leave a Reply

