“A DAY AT THE TEXAS STATE FAIR”

Ferris Wheel

 I’ve never been a great fan for riding on ferris wheels.  Never have I been interest in where the name came from or when was it first invented, so I looked it up:

A Ferris wheel (also known as an observation wheel or big wheel) is a nonbuilding structure consisting of a rotating upright wheel with passenger cars (sometimes referred to as gondolas or capsules) attached to the rim in such a way that as the wheel turns, the cars are kept upright, usually by gravity.

Some of the largest and most modern Ferris wheels have cars mounted on the outside of the rim, and electric motors to independently rotate each car to keep it upright. These wheels are sometimes referred to as observation wheels, and their cars referred to as capsules, however these alternative names are also sometimes used for wheels with conventional gravity-oriented cars.

The original Ferris Wheel was designed and constructed by George Washington Gale Ferris, Jr. as a landmark for the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition in Chicago. The term Ferris wheel later came to be used generically for all such structures.

Since the original 1893 Chicago Ferris Wheel, there have been eight subsequent world’s tallest-ever Ferris wheels. The current record holder is the 165-metre (541 ft) Singapore Flyer, which opened to the public in March 2008.

Pam and I traveled to Dallas yesterday for a Texas State Fair adventure, in other words we wanted to see some of the exhibits and try some of the WEIRD DEEP FRIED FOODS.  I don’t know whether people had visions or dreams to come up with some of these foods.  It may have been their response to a nightmare they had.  Whatever the case, we did enjoy some of the offerings.

I mentioned the ferris wheel because I have not taken a ride on one since I was very young.  I tried it once and was probably more scared than thrilled because of the wind, rocking, and height.  So I have refrained from the temptation to ride ferris wheels for many. many years.  But, we were on an adventure and this is Pam’s favorite ride.  I told her I would ride with her.  This was either a surprise or shock to her.  She said it would be alright for me to sit in the shade and wait for her, but because she is Pam and I am me, I told her I would ride with her.  I really wasn’t bad and I could see the Dallas skyline.  I don’t remember how high the wheel is but while we were stopped at the top, Pam noticed a large crate filled with pumpkins and they looked like oranges to us.  That’s high enough for me.

We had a great time, listened to the Ranger baseball game on the way home, and arrived home in time to see the 9th inning and a Texas Ranger come from behind victory.  So, I guess we saw the most important part of the game.

Life is an adventure and I guess I learned a “life lesson” yesterday.  I don’t believe I’ve always had a fear of ferris wheels.  It is just not the most comfortable thing I desire to do.  As to the “life lesson,” there are many things we fear in life because of the unknown factor involved.  It is by faith that we continue forward and our faith in God replaces our fear with a peace that can only be provided by Him.  It is that faith that allows us to approach all circumstances and enjoy each adventure of life.

One Response to ““A DAY AT THE TEXAS STATE FAIR””

  1. Debbie Black Says:

    Great pic….sounds like a fun day to me!!!!

Leave a Reply

