“50 YEARS”

Last Friday I received this “Certification of Recognition” from The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy for 50 years of licensure as a Certified Public Accountant.  WOW!  It seems like only a few years ago that I was studying for and taking the CPA examination.  The accompanying letter bestowed congratulations from the Texas State Board on being among those distinguished Texas CPAs who have maintained their licenses for 50 years.

The law requiring certification in accounting was passed in 1945.  I passed my exam in 1961 and my license number is 5,487.  I called the State Board this morning and they told me that approximately 98,000 licenses have been issued in the State of Texas.  I have often been curious as to how many active CPAs there are with a license number lower than mine.  Just curious, it’s no big deal.

In addition, the Board invited me to attend, along with Pam and Lyndsey, the December 3, 2011, swearing-in ceremony in Austin, Texas, and to be seated with the other 50-year honorees on the stage during the ceremony.  This is expected to be a highlight in the professional lives of both the new CPAs and their 50-year counterparts and to serve as an inspiration to those newly licensed.

Many people have heard my story of a mother who sat me down and discussed the various professions available.  I was 11 years old and in the sixth grade.  I decided that day that wanted to be a CPA and even though I took a few rabbit trails to the side and skipped the opportunity of a college degree.  I know that God has had His Hand on me my entire life and through hard study and my experience in accounting I was successful in passing the exam.  You can no longer qualify for the exam without a college education, so I was fortunate in qualifying through experience before the law changed.

The State of Texas recognizes the CPA Certificate as a master’s degree and it allowed me to teach night classes for a junior college when I first moved to Jasper.  That was an experience I will always remember.  Three of my students in “Principles of Accounting” later became CPAs.  I was extremely honored to have had a part in that.

During theses past 50 years as a CPA, I have been an employee of two CPA firms, spent 30 years in banking as a Chief Financial Officer, and after retiring 9 years ago (for two days), I changed my focus to financial planning.  That change has brought much joy to me to be able to be instrumental in people reaching their retirement goals.

I have had many great, and trying experiences, during these past 50 years along with many highlights.  Pam and I always look at everything that happens in life as an adventure, so I have had some great adventures during those years.  My most wonderful adventure as been meeting and marrying Pam, followed closely by the arrival of Lyndsey in our lives.  Those two make every day an adventure for me and I love every minute of it.

So, I have been blessed during my life and walking in God’s blessing has been an experience and adventure that there are really no words to express.  It is because of my relationship with Him, that I have been able to fill my life with many adventures.

6 Responses to ““50 YEARS””

  1. David Black Says:

    Congratulations Jerry! What an accomplishment. The great part about this Award ( Milestone ) and all of your so called rabbit trails and adventures is that you have maintained your loving Spirit and sense of Humor and care for other people..
    Love and Blessings,
    David

  2. Debbie Black Says:

    Congratulations on a life time achievement!!!!!

  3. Keith Says:

    Salute,

  4. Pam Says:

    To be a part of most of this journey has been my great delight and blessing!! I look forward to many more adventures and December will be one of the great moments. Seems I only experienced the best part. Thank you for all the hard times you kept walking through to get to here

  5. Congratulations! « keepaccountingweird Says:

    […] https://jbburrows.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/50-years-2/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Comments RSS feed […]

Leave a Reply

