“GOOD NEWS”

For the past few days I have watched the same news being broadcast on the area TV stations and newspapers.  This news was about the death of a policeman, children being found in the bottom of the swimming pool when parents didn’t know where they were, robberies, and other tragic events.  These were not news items.  They were old news and I began to wonder if any of the news reporters were trying to find any GOOD NEWS to report, or were they satisfied with repeating the same old bad news.

This morning I decided to search for some GOOD NEWS in the media.  It is quite a task to find something positive in the news media.  I did find in the local paper (weekly) an article about a club formed through the 4-H club for the purpose of teaching about archery and firearms and the safety involved.  This was a club for young people.

I also found an article on the web about an accident in New Jersey.  A woman riding a bicycle in the parking lot was hit by a pickup truck and was pinned under the truck.  This was some GOOD NEWS about a bad accident.  The GOOD NEWS was that 10 people lifted the pickup off the woman and saved her life.  She was injured and having a hard time breathing, and would have died if not for the action taken by these caring people.

Many times we can see the GOOD NEWS in bad events…we just have to look past the even itself.

I believe that with all of the negative things happening in this world today, we get accustomed to searching for the news each day to find out all the bad things.  After a while, I find out that it becomes a habit to seek out the negative things of this world.  I find myself thinking “WHAT NOW?”  I look at the economy and it’s bad.  I look at what our elected representatives in local, state, and national government are doing and it’s bad.  I look at the floods, fires, and drought in our nation and it’s bad.  These things put me in such a negative mood that I fail to look for the good things in life.

I was thinking about this while getting ready for work this morning and this song came to my mind:

HE TOUCHED ME

Shackled by a heavy burden,
‘Neath a load of guilt and shame.
Then the hand of Jesus touched me,
And now I am no longer the same.

He touched me, Oh He touched me,
And oh the joy that floods my soul!
Something happened and now I know,
He touched me and made me whole.

Since I met this blessed Savior,
Since He cleansed and made me whole,
I will never cease to praise Him,
I’ll shout it while eternity rolls.

He touched me, Oh He touched me,
And oh the joy that floods my soul!
Something happened and now I know
He touched me and made me whole

I realized there are really some good things happening in this world today.  God is still in charge!

I have decided to make an effort to search for the good in all people and the events that happened each day.  I know that there is a purpose to all things and when we put our trust in God, all things work together for good to them that love God.

This song reminded me that something really great happened to me many years ago.  He touched me and made me whole.

2 Responses to ““GOOD NEWS””

  1. Debbie Black Says:

    I love that!!!! Soooo very true!

  2. Pam Says:

    I know HE touched you and I am blessed to experience Gods love throug you!!!

Leave a Reply

