“PLaN ahEAd”

 

“PLAN AHEAD” looks much better than “PLaN ahEAd” doesn’t it.  When I plan ahead, I have determined a way to reach my goal.

In  case you don ‘t know, I love Longhorn Baseball.  Each Christmas Pam and I make a gift of season tickets to each other for the coming baseball season.  You might say I have a plan to reach my goal.  You might also believe that my goal is to go to Austin each weekend the Longhorns are in town.  If that is what you believe, it is because I have told you my plan without disclosing my goal.  In order to have a plan it is necessary to first decide on the goal. 

Now for the surprise!  My plan is not to spend each weekend watching Longhorn Baseball.  My goal is to spend quality time with my lovely wife, with a bonus of watching baseball.  I make this commitment each Christmas when it is time to renew our season tickets.  It is also time to make my contribution to the Longhorn Foundation for the benefit of student-athletes.  The contribution is the plan and the goal is to benefit students…the bonus I receive is parking next to the stadium where we visit with our baseball friends before the game.

We have a weekly sales meeting at my office.  Each person brings a positive statement to the group at the beginning of the meeting.  During the meeting each person will decide on “three imperatives” for the coming week.  Three is the least number of must-do actions to do without fail.  This forces each of us develop a plan to accomplish these goals. 

If I don’t know where I am going (goal), it is impossible to decide how to get there (plan).  A plan doesn’t always work out exactly the way we intended.  We many times have bumps in the road that cause us to make adjustments in the plan, but  the goal remains the same.  If Longhorn Baseball didn’t exist, I would still have the goal of spending quality time with Pam.

When I left the ballpark last Sunday, my goal was to come home.  I had a planned route which included stopping for a meal.  When I discovered I had left Pam’s hang-up clothes at the hotel, this didn’t change my goal…my plan just had to be adjusted to return to the hotel and take a different route to achieve my goal. 

God’s word teaches us about planning ahead:

The plans of the heart belong to man,
but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.
All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes,
but the Lord weighs the spirit.
Commit your work to the Lord,
and your plans will be established.  Proverbs 16:1-3

The heart of man plans his way,
but the Lord establishes his steps.  —Proverbs 16:9

Many are the plans in the mind of a man,
but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.  —Proverbs 19:21

One Response to ““PLaN ahEAd””

  1. Debbie Black Says:

    Good message….still concerned about the comb….and somebody would have had a huge treasure if you had not gone back to the hotel.

Leave a Reply

