“REVISIT – ‘THREE THINGS'”

I began this blog over one year ago with a post entitle “A Valentine Gift for Pam.”  My second post was “Three Things To Do Each Day”  on February 12, 2010.  I have enjoyed posting the past 14 months and 128 posts and 3,454 hits later, I am surprised at the results.  The reason for this post has always been to write about something that is possibly interesting to others and ending with a short lesson or words of encouragement.

One of my favorite blogs is “Three Things To Do Each Day” and the following was taken from this posting:

What are the three things I try to do each day?  Many days we get so busy getting ready for the day we forget three things that would have an impact on the rest of our day.  When we start our early morning routines we sometimes leave out the most important thing……emotions.  Believe me, I understand being “brain-dead” during this early morning rush.  I guess you might say its the most boring part of our day. 

TRY THIS….YOU’LL LIKE IT!

1.  Cry

2.  Meditate

3.  Laugh

You might say:  “JB, have you lost your mind?”  Hopefully I haven’t.  I’ve been this way for a long, long time.

CRY:  Why would anyone want to cry.  What happens when you cry?  It relieves tension and often gives you a cleansing sensation (like have clear sinus).  So, what do you have to cry about?  Maybe nothing personally.  It not, great!  I don’t mean feel sad.  I mean really, really cry.  Lyndsey has a word for this.  She calls it WOMP! (sic)  What about crying for this nation’s moral decay and the fact that it seems to get worse each day?  Nehemiah WEPT about the walls of Jerusalem had fallen and the gates had been burned.  Israel was in danger from the surrounding Kings.  But, it was not about the walls.  He wept because of the sins of Israel.  He fell on his face, wept, prayed, and confessed the sins of his people.  Nehemiah knew source of protection for Jerusalem was.  He called on our Protector.   What about the people of Haiti during their time of crisis?  If I really, really need to cry, I picture in my mind the pain and suffering of Christ on the cross and the brutality that he suffered for me.  If I were the only one in the world, He would have suffered just for me.  When we really cry, it prepares us for the next thing for the day:

MEDITATE:  After a cleansing cry, we are ready to meditate.  It really has a way of  humbling us.  You might have your own way, but each morning I read the Bible and dig deeply into the Word to receive wisdom for today’s trials.  Now we are really getting ready to face the day so we can:

LAUGH:  When I say laugh, I don’t mean turn up the corners of your mouth 1/4 of an inch.  That is really not even a smile.  Sometimes I laugh really hard when my day starts off in the pits and I look back and see how God has already blessed me this morning.  Now isn’t that funny?  It’s funny to me because I feel so dumb not to recognize God’s grace in my life. 

WARNING!!!  Don’t try to do all three of these at the same time.  You and/or others may think you’ve lost it.  It begins with crying, which is the lead-in for the other two.

After you’ve read this you might want to say:  “JB, how is that working for you?”  IT WORKS FOR ME!  After you’ve tried it, ask yourself:  “How is that working for me?”

If you don’t tell me, I’ll never know.  So I would be happy for your response after you started your day with these three things.

Today’s Update: 

As I look at conditions around this nation and the world today, compared to a year ago, conditions have not improved.  In fact, there are more problems than ever.  It is a good time to cry for this nation and turn to the One who has the answers.  We cry out to God, yet there seems to be a silence.  There is a famine for the sound of His voice in answering our prayers.  Without faith in God, there is no hope.  Even with all of these troubles to cry about, I still meditate and try hard to find something to laugh about.  There is always something that will bring laughter to our souls.  These thoughts of famine come from the study of Amos 8:11-13:

  “Behold, the days are coming,” says the Lord God, “That I will send a famine on the land, Not a famine of bread, Nor a thirst for water, But of hearing the words of the Lord, They shall wander from sea to sea, And from north to east; They shall run to and fro, seeking the word of the Lord, But shall not find it.

Is the Lord being silent to our prayers to bring this nation back to Him?  I wonder!

Leave a Reply

