“LONGHORN BASEBALL IS ALMOST HERE!!!”

Two weeks from this coming Friday will be time for the “first pitch” of the 2011 Texas Longhorn Baseball Season.  Pam and  I begin planning for the next season as soon as the College World Series is over…or maybe even before that.  There are a lot of things to get done before the season begins each year.

As soon as the schedule is published, it is time to make reservations for the  entire season, so I have already received confirmations for my favorite Austin hotel beginning on February 18 and ending the latter part of May.  Pam and I have been staying in the same hotel for a number of years and they maintain a profile on us, so we usually stay in one of our favorite rooms.  We have become accustomed to certain rooms and really feel like we are home.  The hotel staff also make us feel at home.

When we travel, Pam usually paints her fingernails.  Between here I-Phone and painting fingernails, she keeps herself occupied.  I’m not a big talker when I drive, so she is able to keep herself entertained.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely silent for 260 miles…I talk a little.  I always talk as we come into Huntsville.  I say, “Are you about ready for Starbucks?”  See, I say the  really important things.  I also ask where she wants to eat when we get close to Bryan/College Station.  This is also very important.  Of course, I also ask if she is ready for a “pit stop.”

On one of trips to Austin last spring I thought it might be nice for Pam to have a portable table to use for fingernail painting while we are on the road.  I suggested it and she thought that was a great idea.  After a little thought and planning this is what I came up with:

 

So, what do you think?  We took a little test run (adventure) last Saturday afternoon.  We went to Livingston to try a restaurant we heard about.  It is called “Florida’s Kitchen.”  They specialize in Down Home Cooking and it was great.  We had BBQ ribs….mmmmm.  They also served shrimp and they looked delicious.  Of course they serve a lot more, but those are two of my favorites.

On our “test run” I found the table needed a little tweaking.  So, I took care of the necessary adjustments on Monday.  Now, we are ready for the spring baseball season.  I think I had a great idea…what do you think?

If you ever need your spirit uplifted a little, do something for someone that brings them pleasure.  If you really want a lift…be obedient to God and do something that gives Him pleasure.  Our Father takes great pleasure when we enjoy the things of this world that He provides.  It is not a bad thing for Christians to take pleasure in things The Creator provides.  So, have a great day and do something unexpected for someone else.

4 Responses to ““LONGHORN BASEBALL IS ALMOST HERE!!!””

  1. Lyndsey Says:

    Jerry – You are a wood working Ninja! And you are a sweet husband. I dont know if this is as sweet as peeling the apple, but it is definitely close. I am very excited to see mom use her new toy. The foldable legs were a genius addition to the original plans.

  2. Pam Says:

    I cannot wait to hard to Austin and I look forward to getting lots of polish on my new nail board. I love it!!!!!

  3. zip codes Says:

    Ok ive made my decision, im subscribing, this is awesome, keep it comin.

  4. RootsAndRings Says:

    This is the most amazing thing I have ever seen! My husband would throw a hissy fit with the nail polish fumes in the car! 🙂

    Tell Pam she MUST get the Seche Vite Top Coat. This is not a suggestion, it’s a demand. She needs it! Her nails will be so shiny and they’ll dry super fast!

Leave a Reply

