“UNDER ATTACK!”

Monday morning at the office I was under attack!!!  I was attacked by “Security Tool.”  I don’t know whether it is a virus, spyware, trojan horse, worm, rootkit, keylogger, or adware.  I do know it is vicious.

I was attacked by this same program about a year ago.  I was able to purchase a program on-line to locate this intrusion and remove it.  Monday morning I tried the same software with no success.  Last year I had to contact tech support for the company that produced the healing program and they were able to assist me in solving the problem.  Yesterday, I contacted them and they were unable to help.  The trojan, work, or virus, whatever it was, had hit me pretty hard and would not let go.  The attacker had learned to go around the cure.

When I purchased my new computer last year, I purchased a new security program.  It was supposed to be one of the best available.  Somehow, the attack had breached my security.  So, I contacted tech support for my new security program.  After I explained my problem, they had me sign-on to their website and they took control of my computer.  All I could do was sit and watch my cursor do its thing.  It was really pretty interesting to see my cursor make its selections and perform the necessary actions to cure my computer ills.  I felt about the same as the first time I rode my bicycle with no hands.  (Look Maw:  No hands.) The tech also cleaned up some programs on my computer that were just taking up space…totally useless.  So, after almost two hours sitting at my desk with my telephone headset on, my computer was free at last!

One of my recent posts had this quote:  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  “Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.”  — John Wooden

The more I tried to solve my computer problem, the more I realized the truth in this quote.  I was trying to do something for which  I am totally unqualified.  I was letting the problem interfering with what I can do.  Make a call to tech support and turn the problem over to them…they are qualified.

I try to look around me, see what is happening, and not only find the lesson, but learn it.  I am sure you already know where I am going with this.  How many times do we run across a problem in our daily lives that we are totally unqualified to take care of?  Much too often.  We struggle and struggle and struggle, and then we say, “God, I just can’t handle this one.  You are going to have to take care of this.”  Believe me when I tell you that all He as been waiting for.  It is in our weakness that God is glorified….not in our strengths.  When we have a God-tech problem,  we can’t handle it with human-tech abilities.  I’ve learned this lesson many times, but I also forget that its been learned many times.

The shortest and fastest way to the answer to our problems is going straight to God in the beginning.  It think it comes under the old saying:  “The shortest distance between to points is a straight line.”

One Response to ““UNDER ATTACK!””

  1. Pam Says:

    Thanks for the reminder

Leave a Reply

