“VETERANS DAY”

Last Sunday at church we honored all veterans in attendance.  We sang the Star Spangled Banner and many other patriotic songs.  We sang the first and last verse of our National Anthem.  I know I must have sung the last verse before.  I just didn’t remember it.  It cites The Power that made  and preserved our nation.  Each of have a very special talent and in reading the entire Anthem, I really appreciate the talent of Francis Scott Key.  Not just anyone can write with such depth.  I have printed the last verse below. 

O! thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand
Between their loved home and the war’s desolation!
Blest with victory and peace, may the heav’n rescued land
Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation.
Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto: “In God is our trust.”
And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

Our pastor requested all veterans to stand with him on stage at the end of the service.  It was a great honor for me to stand with veterans from World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.  To receive a standing ovation was quite an honor and it made me proud to have had the opportunity to serve my country.

This special day was brought about by the signing of The Armistice by Germany at the end of World War I on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month in 1918. 

In the past I have been in attendance when  a church would honor the veterans of our nation.  One of the most awesome experiences was one year on July 4th.  This church has a membership of over 19,000 with a huge choir.  The pastor asked all veterans to stand when their military branch song was sung.  I saw veterans stand, with tears in their eyes, and salute their flag as each anthem was sung.  It was not a prideful experience, but an experience that made me proud to have served my country in the military.

There is an army where each of us may serve.  It is the army of The Power that made and preserved our nation.  Each of us should endeavor to serve in God’s Army.  This is an honor that far surpasses that of serving in the military in both war and peace.

I pray God’s blessings on all veterans and the men and women presently serving in the military.  I pray for their protection as they serve in harms way.

3 Responses to ““VETERANS DAY””

  1. Irina Says:

    Hi everybody, Happy veteran’s day!

    I simply just want to wish America’s twenty six million old soldiers a very happy veteran’s day. And as well , lets me personally quote Veterans Day quote that I like:

    “There never was a good war or a bad peace .. . ## Benjamin Franklin”… .

    In case you really need to get info on Veterans Day celebrations, special discounts, its own History, films and far more, Military.com contains excellent on-line repository with everything else to assist. ..

  2. me Says:

    this i use

  3. pam Says:

    i am thankful everytime you are honored and am always reminded how young you, too, were when you chose to serve…thank you from the bottom of my heart

Leave a Reply

