“LEFT-HAND MONKEY WRENCH”

 

 

 

When I was in the United States Army stationed at Fort Knox, Kentucky, we would periodically have these nice, comfortable, fellowship outings in what we called the “boondocks.” It wasn’t exactly like going on a company picnic or a family camping trip. These were field exercises to train us in case we were called to combat, so we didn’t have all the comforts of home. We were playing “war games” to prepare us for actual combat conditions. These were serious “games” that would last for a number of weeks, but there were times of levity.

When we were on manuevers, I drove the Adjutant’s jeep. He was a Captain and my rank was just below nothing. When he got bored, he liked to have a little fun with me. One day he asked (ordered) me to go to the battalion supply tent and bring back a “LEFT-HAND MONKEY WRENCH.” Well, I was not totally uninformed about monkey wrenches. I grew up on a farm so I was familiar with many different tools. I especially knew that a ‘LEFT-HAND MONKEY WRENCH” didn’t exist…it would fit either hand.

But, an order is an order so I decided it best I play the game. So, in obedience to my Captain, I walked to the battalion supply tent and asked the supply sergeant for a left-hand monkey wrench for my captain. I really expected the sergeant to laugh and tell me how stupid I was. But, at that time I didn’t know how the game was played. He looked at me with a very serious expression on his face and said the only left-hand monkey wrench in the battalion had been sent to “Charlie” Company. So, he sent me to the supply sergeant at “Charlie” company. Yeah, you guessed it! The “Charlie” Company supply sergeant said that someone in Company A had come and borrowed it. So he sent me to Company A. I know you can probably guess the rest of the story. We had five companies in our battalion.

None of the supply sergeants laughed at me. This is the way the game is played. There was laughter, however. While I was walking around the battalion area, all the supply sergeants and my captain were having a great time on the field phones.

Orders are orders!

There are times in life when God tells us to do something we really don’t understand. But, our responsibility is to obey. I have a lot more fear in not following God’s orders than I did when ordered by an army captain to do something that I KNEW was a joke. In working for my captain, I built a relationship with him and it served me well during that time. He watched over me at all times. So it is with God. As we listen and are obedient to His commands, our relationship with Him grows strong. He will watch over us at all times and give us wisdom in dealing with everything that comes our way.

After the search for a “LEFT-HAND MONKEY WRENCH” was over, I could sit back and have a good laugh with my captain. Now, each time God brings me through a difficult situation, I can sit back a have a good laugh with Him.

After all….ORDERS ARE ORDERS!!!

 

2 Responses to ““LEFT-HAND MONKEY WRENCH””

  1. Pam Says:

    Great comparison ..I love to think of GOD smiling down on us!!!

  2. jimmy Says:

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

