“KEY LIME PIE”

 

Doesn’t this make your mouth water?  Key Lime Pie is probably my favorite dessert.  The only thing better than a piece (left picture) of Key Lime Pie is a whole Key Lime Pie (right picture).  It takes a lot of discipline to only eat one piece.  I AM SPEAKING FOR MYSELF!!! 

A few years ago, I was in a banking group that met twice each year.  We met once in the spring and once in the fall.  I traveled to many nice places.  There were choices of locations for each meeting.  After traveling to a lot of different places I finally decided my two favorite places were The Phoenician in Scottsdale, Arizona in the spring and The Ritz-Carlton in Naples, Florida for the fall. 

 The Phoenician – Scottsdale, Arizona

Once I took Pam to the Phoenician, she always wanted to go the next year.  One year we let Lyndsey go with us.  I surprised her at the airport when I hired a limo to take us to the resort.  She thought she had died and gone to heaven.  She was even more in awe when we arrived at the hotel.

The Phoenician makes a great Key Lime Pie.  I will judge it as being third best in all my experiences with this treat.  It is not second best because Pam’s Key Lime Pie ranks in that position.

 

 

The Ritz-Carlton – Naples, Florida

 Now The Ritz-Carlton in Naples is where  I have found first place for Key Lime Pie.  One reason, this is the part of the United States where they have real key limes.  One trip when Pam went with me I couldn’t wait to treat her with the Key Lime experience.  They have three or four restaurants at the Ritz.  One night at dinner I looked at the dessert menu and  NO KEY LIME PIE!!!!  Horrors.  I summoned my water and asked about my favorite dessert.  He said the new menu had eliminated this item.  I had eaten this pie at this same restaurant in years past.  He said there was no problem–he would send someone to one of the other restaurants for my Key Lime Pie.  Problem solved.

The only reason Pam takes second place with her Key Lime Pie is because she doesn’t have the “real” key limes to use.  If she did, she would take first place.  But, placing second to the Ritz is not a bad deal.

Both of the places mentioned above have a lot other great things besides Key Lime Pie.  They have excellent food, spas, and golf courses, etc.  The Phoenician has a great ice cream shop.  When you order ice cream, they open the cooler and scrape off the top layer of ice cream and throw it in the garbage.  It doesn’t make sense to me, but that’s what they do.  They also serve a giant chocolate chip cookie with ice cream covering the top.  This was enough dessert for Pam, Lyndsey, and myself.

 How do we rate first place in our lives?  It is just as simple as the Ritz-Carlton Key Lime Pie.  We fill ourselves with the “real” thing…the Spirit of God.  There is nothing more filling that the Holy Spirit.  This filling brings us more peace and satisfaction than anything this world has to offer.  This is where our strength comes from to cope with the world and its problems on a daily basis.

 

One Response to ““KEY LIME PIE””

  1. zburrows Says:

    I think i could be pretty happy spending the rest of my life at the pheonician

Leave a Reply

