“I DIDN’T KNOW I WAS HI-TECH”

 

I just had an interesting conversation with Lyndsey.  I had purchased her a new printer last month with wireless capabilities.  I had never checked to see how she like it.  Her old printer was before anyone even thought about a wireless feature.  She said it was really nice to be able to sit on the couch and print without being hooked to a cable.

During our conversation, she said, “Dad, you are really hi-tech.”  I replied, “I don’t think so.”  Then she got a little personal and asked if there was any time we didn’t have electricity.  She was not talking about a power failure.  I told her that when I was young we had kerosene lamps.  We also had a wood stove until we upgraded to a kerosene stove.  There was no plumbing in the house, the water well was next the back porch, and we had a trail out back to walk to the outhouse.  Our telephone was mounted on the wall, we had to crank it to reach the operator, and we were on a party-line.

She told me to look and see where I was now.  She said I used the computer every day and also posted on a blog.  So, maybe I am hi-tech.  I do remember my first computer at the bank where I worked.  We only bought two.  I went to school at SMU in Dallas for a week to learn how to program.  “Windows” didn’t exist at the time.  I am not trying to say I am old, because I am really “young at heart.”  I stay up-to-date on my computer and depend on it daily. 

Here’s a quote from my “Wisdom” book about aging:

First you forget names,

then you forget faces,

then you forget to pull your zipper up,

then you forget to pull your zipper down.     ——Leo Rosenburg

So, where is the lesson in this?  I am young at heart because of the Spirit that lives within me.

Short post today because I didn’t have anything to write about until I talked to Lyndsey.

One Response to ““I DIDN’T KNOW I WAS HI-TECH””

  1. zburrows Says:

    You are one cool cat jeria! I talked to a guy today that was thinking of retiring in a couple of years… he said “well… I am 62!” I laughed.

Leave a Reply

