“PAM’S BIRTHDAY”

Pam’s birthday lasts for at least one week each July.  Her “real” birthday is July 20th, but we started on the 15th this year…sorta.  Her birthday is really hard to forget and it’s not because it’s on the same date each year.  Years ago, she would sneak into my office and put reminders on my desk calendar beginning a couple of months before her birthday.  Now, in the age of cellphone texting, she just sends text messages at random times.

She works two days each week (Wednesday and Thursday).  We went out to eat shrimp on Thursday night, so I claim a birthday treat for that.  I planned a birthday celebration for Saturday.  We went to Beaumont for a movie and dinner afterward.

I like to plan ahead, so I looked on Chico’s website and found the newest arrivals.  I picked out a vest I thought she would like.  I surprised her on the way to Beaumont by telling her about our upcoming visit to Chico’s.  She just happened to have a Chico’s catalogue with her, so I asked her to see if she could guess what I had selected for her birthday present.  I thought after all these years of marriage she would immediately select the same item that I had picked.  Our minds to work alike quite often.  She picked, picked, and picked but still didn’t choose the one I did.  Now, I’m thinking I am in real trouble.

We found the item I had selected and it didn’t look the same as in the catalogue….and it didn’t fit just right anyway.  She sometimes has problems shopping for clothes because she is a size “0”…whatever that is.  But, all was not lost.  We found a lot of things that she liked.

Not changing the subject, but years ago I went to a weekend retreat for men only.  It was a ministry of Harold O’Chester, pastor of Great Hills Baptist Church in Austin.  While there I went to a breakout session to learn how to “speak woman.”  Women speak from emotion and men speak more from fact and action.  I mention this because when I think of buying Pam an article of clothing….I think of that one item.  From her emotional point of view, there are the blouses and other accessories needed to make the outfit complete.

This is not a complaint about the way she thinks.  It’s just a fact.  I won’t  tell everything we bought, but it was great!  And, I was able to sit in a comfortable seat and have everything modeled for me.  I felt like I was at a style show.  In fact, the manager at Chico’s asked Pam if she would consent to model for them.

After shopping, we went to see “Inception.”  If you haven’t seen this movie….don’t bother.  And, if you do see it and either enjoy it or understand it, don’t tell me because I will really feel WEIRD. 

After the movie I asked Pam where she wanted to have dinner.  She said she had first thought about eating at Carraba’s but then decided on Tokyo Steak House.  I told her when I woke up that morning I had thought about Carraba’s, but then I thought about Tokyo Steak House because it had been a long time since we had eaten at the  Japanese grill.  She said let’s got to Tokyo.  I told her “here’s your sign.”  (Blue Collar Comedy if you don’t understand).

Our meal was great and so was the entire birthday adventure.  Pam and I thrive on the little adventures we have when traveling.  Whatever makes her happy is what I enjoy most.  It keeps reminding me to remember that women think different.  Fact is, they are different and thank God for the difference.

God makes us all different and that is what makes life both challenging and exciting.  We think different and our individual Spiritual Gifts motivate us in how we approach life.  Understanding these differences makes life much easier to have relationships with one another.  We are to use these Spiritual Gifts to serve God and bring glory to His name.

4 Responses to ““PAM’S BIRTHDAY””

  1. RootsAndRings Says:

    “she is a size “0”… whatever that is.” — my feelings exactly!

  2. pam Says:

    everything i got at chicos will be a reminder each time i wear
    them of how generous you are and how blessed i am…happy birthday
    to me…..;)

  3. Body Cleanser : Says:

    my favorite birthday present is always stuff toy, i always give cute stuff toys to anyone i know that celebrates his/her birthd “

  4. Deck Lighting Says:

    when i was a kid, i love to receive an assortment of birthday presents like teddy bears and mechanical toys ‘`;

Leave a Reply

