“BLACKBERRIES”

 

I took an alternate route back to the office yesterday after lunch.  This route is down a country road and there is a place where the pine trees have been harvested.  When the trees have been removed, the sun brings out the blackberry vines.  It is about time for the berries to ripen and I found a few on the side of the road.  There were not a lot of berries, but with a little searching, I found a few. 

I surprised Pam when I arrived home by telling her she could go berry picking with me.  I usually forget in the spring to check on the berry crop.  I like to have Pam along with me because she is a good snake spotter and she protects me from these evil beings.  I am not really afraid of snakes, but it makes Pam feel good when she is able to keep me safe.  She sent Lyndsey a text message saying I was taking her on an adventure.  Of course, Lyndsey’s curiosity prompted her to immediately enquire what the adventure was. 

At the Longhorn baseball games players are featured on the scoreboard.  They introduce themselves, tell a little bit about themselves, and then tell something people don’t know about them.  I enjoy listening to the players tell about themselves.  Well, let me tell you something about me that people may not know.  I have a wife that absolutely makes the best blackberry cobbler in the world.  Of course, I am able to contribute the Blue Bell Ice Cream.  See, that is what partnership is all about.

Pam is a good berry picker.  She uses the “pick and eat” method, so her bucket doesn’t have as many berries as mine.  We were able to gather enough blackberries for just plain eating and for a cobbler.  Can you taste it as well as I can?  I can’t wait.

When you can find blackberries, pick them, and have a great cobbler, without the necessity of planting, fertilizing, pruning, etc., you know there must be a God that provides wonderful things for us.  I can only imagine what the Garden of Eden was like….but, I know that it exceeded my imagination.  I often look back and give thanks to God for His generosity for my family and I.  When I think about giving thanks, I realize that the blessings far exceed anything I can do in comparison.  We truly have a wonderful and all-powerful Gold, who constantly watches over us.

2 Responses to ““BLACKBERRIES””

  1. RootsAndRings Says:

    Maybe Miss Pam should share her recipe with the rest of the world….

  2. Lyndsey Says:

    I am curious because i want to go too!

Leave a Reply

