“CLASSIC CARS”

1957 Chevrolet

Isn’t this a beauty? 

When I was discharged from the Army in 1957, I purchased a 1957 Chevrolet like the one above.  It was the same color.  The only difference, mine was a 4-door.  Of all the autos I have owned over the years, this was my very favorite.

When I travel to Tyler, there is a classic car dealer in Bullard.  He always has a few on his lot.  He finds old cars and brings them back to life.  We have stopped a few times and to enjoy a closer look.

Last Saturday in Austin we were looking for a new place to eat.  We found a restaurant on South Congress named “Woodland.”  I don’t know how we’ve missed this restaurant all these years.  It doesn’t look like much on the outside, but  the food was great.  Pam and I ate shrimp and grits and it was very tasty.

We started south on Congress from downtown.  When we crossed the Town Lake bridge, we looked up and traffic was bumper to bumper as far as you could see.  I wasn’t aware of any events taking place on Saturday.  We detoured back to Interstate 35 and by-passed most of the traffic.  The restaurant was near the Magnolia Cafe.  We were really lucky and found a parking space behind the Woodland.

We saw more than a few classic cars, hot-rods, and motorcycles.  I asked our waiter about all the traffic.  He said that it was the annual motorcycle and classic car rally.  People were lined up along Congress and it looked like a Christmas parade.  After dinner, we stood on the sidewalk and watched the traffic pass.  Many of the classic cars were parked along the street.  Seeing all this brought back memories of my 1957 Chevrolet Impala, 4-door hardtop.  This was the only car I ever owned that almost brought tears to my eyes when I drove from the dealership after trading it in.  I wish I had it back even today.

I have a CD I listen to sometimes when traveling.  The artist is Randy Travis, and one of the songs he sings about “down with the old man and up with the new.”  If man can rebuild old wrecks and make them beautiful classic cars, just think what God can do.  Believing in what Jesus did for each of us can truly bury the old man and give life to the new man.  Just as classic cars get a new life, God gives us a new abundant life.  The change from a rusted old car to a sparkling classic car cannot compare to the re-birth we receive from God.

One Response to ““CLASSIC CARS””

  1. pam Says:

    great!!!! tied all that up beautifully and placed a bow on it too. see, you can wrap a present and make all who see it want it!!!!

Leave a Reply

