“A MESSAGE FROM THE PAST”

I will be at an all-day seminar tomorrow so I was going to share a poem that has meant a lot to me over the years.  I have a book of poetry titled “Poems That Touch the Heart.”  The poem I had in mind is “untitled” and the author is “unknown.”  In the book I found a note:  Please copy “Why Do I Love You?” in its entirety.  It was written by Lyndsey when she was much younger and I don’t recall what prompted the note, but the poem did indeed “touch my heart.”  I didn’t find the other poem, but I will locate it for a later post.  Therefore, I share this “‘message from the past.”

WHY DO I LOVE YOU?

I love you,

Not only for what your are,

But for what I am

When I am with yuou.

***

I love you

Not only for what

You have made of yourself,

But for what

You are making of me.

***

I love you

For ignoring the possibilities

Of the fool in me

And for laying firm hold

Of the possibilities for good.

***

Why do I love you?

***

I love you

For closing your eyes

To the discords–

And for adding to the music in me

By worshipful listening.

***

I love you becaue you

Are helping me to make

Of the lumber of my life

Not a tavern

But a temple;

And out of the words

Of my every day

Not a reproach

But a song.

***

I love you

Because you have done

More than any creed

To make me happy.

***

You have done it

Without a word,

Without a touch,

Without a sign.

You have done it

Just by being yourself.

***

After all

Perhaps that is what

Love means.

                     Roy Crouch

Lyndsey and I have always shared a very special bond and I thank God for her each day.

One Response to ““A MESSAGE FROM THE PAST””

  1. Lyndsey Says:

    Obviously this WAS for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

