“THE DAY AFTER ST. PATRICK’S DAY”

WHAT IS SO IMPORTANT ABOUT THE DAY AFTER ST. PATRICK’S DAY?  Thirty-two years ago Pam and I were married!  I’ve mentioned this a few times in my posts.  It was an important day when I mentioned it and it is a very important day today. 

St. Patrick’s Day is very important to me also.  Why?  Every year when I see everyone wearing green it means there is something important that I must do.  Very seldom do I forget special occasion but I have a very definite “green” sign for our anniversary. 

It’s a good thing when we can have something to remind us of special days.  My birthday is also pretty easy to remember.  Not only was I present on the day I was born, but my birthday comes around the day when I am a year older.  I also have birthdays that remind me of my birthday.  My birthday is 4 days after Bill’s, 2 days after Wendel’s, and 2 days before Danny’s.  See how easy that is.  It all begins when Pam calls Bill (her dad) and wishes him “happy birthday” .  Once that happens I can remember all the other birthdays.

I am not sure how Pam remembers this day, but maybe it’s when I pinch her.  She is real bad about not wearing green on St. Patrick’s Day so I always pinch her.  That’s probably not the way she remembers.  I know one thing.  She never forgets birthdays or any other special occasions.  When each January comes around, she gets her new calendar and writes down all the special occasions for the entire year.  Pam is an organizer so she stays organized. 

One year I almost forget her birthday.  We had taken her mom and day to Dauphine Island off the coast of Alabama.  This is a small island and there are no retail businesses.   There are a couple of restaurants, but mostly is just a quiet island with great beaches.  Although we’ve not been there for a number of years, it’s one of my favorite places for sun and relaxation.  Her dad had some trouble with his car so I followed him to Mobile one morning.  On the way there I remembered Pam’s birthday was coming up.  Horrors!!!  I had forgotten all about card, present, etc.  We left his car in Mobile and returned in the afternoon to pick it up.  After I dropped him off, I went shopping.  I found a diamond ring.  I think it is called a “dinner ring.”  Well, I purchased the ring and selected a birthday card.  I will always remember what I wrote in the birthday card.  Pam always likes to have the date written in the card and something special written to her.  That was the first time I said, “I would do it all over again.”  That worked so well that I have said it again on appropriate occasions.  I wrote that because I meant it that day and I mean it even more today.

I just this moment remember something about cards.  A few years ago, I believe it was on our anniversary, Pam presented me with an album containing all the special cards she had given me since our marriage.  I told you she was organized and she found all the cards and filled the album.  It was a special gift to me and held great memories as we looked through all the cards. 

I got her something special this year but I can’t tell what it is.  She may read this before she gets her gift.  Lyndsey always does something special on this day.  I can see Pam’s influence on her life in things she does that are “over and above” for others.

Now is when I usually have something to say about God and His relationship with His people.  I have thought about this and I believe the message is this:  Above all to be true to your spouse concerning the promises you made before God at the altar.  Placing God first in your life will make your marriage an exciting adventure.  In turn, the family you raise will bring many blessings as you see them walk in His presence. 

Follow the God-given vision for your marriage.  How do we recognize a vision as God-given or as man-made?  First, does it align with the Word of God, the nature of God, and the ways of God?  Second, does it advance God’s kingdom, and not necessarily your own?  Third, does it bless other people?  Finally, does the vision stand the test of time?

2 Responses to ““THE DAY AFTER ST. PATRICK’S DAY””

  1. pam burrows Says:

    you have taken my breath away and made me know
    that God has truly shown me how much i am loved because
    you have given HIS love so freely to me…always

  2. RootsAndRings Says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO YOU TWO! You are such a wonderful example to all of us!

Leave a Reply

