“ROLLER SKATES”

 

Vintage All-Metal Roller skatesa

Have you ever wanted something so bad that you had a ” knot in your side”? 

When I was ten or eleven years old, I really wanted roller skates.  I don’t know where I got it into my head that I needed them.  I must have visited a friend in town who had roller skates.  Normally you must have a sidewalk, parking lot, or some good hard flat surface to skate.  Well, I lived in the country on the Appleby Sand Road.  I am talking about deep white sand.  The only place I had a possibility of skating was on the front porch.  We had an older home that originally had a “dog run” down the center.  We had closed the “dog run” to enlarge the rooms.  Our porch was a wide as the house.  I guess it was about 30 or 40 feet long and maybe 8 or 10 feet wide.  It was not an ideal skating rink.

I saved and saved for my roller skates.  I don’t remember the cost but it was probably five or six dollars.  That was big money for me.  The kind of roller skates I am talking about are not the ones with boots that you lace up.  These were the ones with the clamps on the side and a strap to tighten around you ankle.  There was a key to tighten the clamps. 

Well, the day finally came to make my purchase.  I went to the hardware store and proudly placed my money on the counter and picked up my skates.  I had picked this day because I had a piano lesson this day each week.  It was two miles to the house of the piano teacher and then a one mile walk home on a dirt road.  My plan was to skate to my piano lesson and I was really excited….skating two miles.  Normally, I road the city bus.

I grew up in the rolling hills of East Texas.  I had never thought much about the fact that I would be skating uphill as well as downhill.  Before I got to the piano lesson it seemed as if I was always skating uphill.  After skating on broken sidewalks and rough streets, uphill and downhill, I arrived at my lesson about two hours late.  My piano teacher was anything but happy and shared none of my excitement about my new skates.  And, even worse, I was so worn out I really couldn’t play the piano very well. 

My dreams and plans for roller skating were a total disaster.  I am not sure how many times I really skated on the front porch or anywhere else for that matter.

It was probably okay to leave God out of my planning when I was 10 or 11 years old.  But now, I can understand how leaving Him out of my planning will lead to disaster.  When I include God in the beginning of my planning, I don’t get that “knot in my side” for something that I really don’t need anyway.  It is a lot better when I walk with Him rather that go skating uphill and downhill through life.  When God is in on the planning, it is amazing how our “wants” change to our “needs.”

2 Responses to ““ROLLER SKATES””

  1. Aunt Bonnie Says:

    Yes, I totally agree wiht the “wants” and “needs” changing when God is in control. The sad thing with our society as a whole is they don’t have a clue to the difference between a “want” and a “need”. Perhaps that’s because they don’t have a clue about God or his plan.

  2. Lyndsey Says:

    I am glad you helped me see the difference between a want and a need JB…. even if you wouldnt let me open my wants on the way home.

Leave a Reply

